
he sixth annual Cruze 

Family Golf tournament 

is now history.   
 

This year’s tournament was played at 

the Dahlgren Golf Course just outside 

of Chaska.  It’s a very pretty and 

challenging course with lots of water, 

hills, sand, and trees. 

 

Alex and Paul Cruze decided to make 

a run for the trophy this year.  Both 

remarked that the course was much 

more difficult than the one they 

normally play on.  Adding to their 

challenge was the noticeable lack of 

“Mulligans”, “gimmes”, and “do-

overs” on tournament Sunday.  Both 

commented that they had a great time. 

 

As always, the competition was 

intense.  Everyone knew just how 

easy it was for a single hole to take a 

player out of the game.  Only one 

player kept his head on his 

shoulders…. 

Congratulations Greg! 

Saturday was breezy with only a few 

clouds while Sunday had high winds 

and dark clouds.  The possibility of a 

storm threatened to cut the tournament 

short.  Our rule is to play in the rain but 

stop when it starts to lightening. 

 

On the 3rd hole on Sunday, Art began 

reminding us of the possibility that the 

game may have to be cancelled because 

of a storm in the area.  (Of course, he 

would win because he won the 

Saturday practice round.) 

 

On the 7th hole Art proclaimed “If I 

see any lightening, the tournament is 

over and I’m outta here”.  By the 10th 

hole he was claiming to see lightening 

and declaring the tournament over. 

 

Since everyone was aware of the 

consequences of stopping the game, 

and no one else saw any lightening (or 

heard any thunder), we continued 

playing.   

 

Now, everyone knows how concerned 

Art is for the well being others, but was 

he really concerned about our safety 

this time or was he really concerned 

about “something else”?  Hmmmmm. 
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This  year we had another 

amazing “come from behind” 

win.  Greg surprised the 

experts with a great score on 

a very difficult course. 

 

Because of his back injury, Greg was 

considered a very “dark” dark horse.  

As expected, he finished well out of 1st 

place on Saturday.  He said he was 

never “in the game” because he had to 

favor his back and was continually 

getting into tree trouble.  

 

He remarked during an interview after 

the game that “today whenever I got 

into tree trouble, I didn’t try to ‘go for 

it‘, I just used a 2 iron and punched the 

ball back into play”.   [Well done!] 

 

After the game, he announced that he 

won the tournament by a full stroke.  

However, when his “miscount” of 

strokes was pointed out, he saw his win 

ripped away from him and replaced 

with a tie.  Realizing that he could still 

lose during a playoff, his face turned 

white and the only words that he could 

utter were “Uh, Er, What? Oh-no, Oh-

no”.   

 

The group made him sweat for a while 

before telling him that he won even 

with the miscount.  Do you think it was 

wrong to make him wait? 
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Concern for our safety or ??? 


